Queensland State Championships at Bowen

The Queensland Open State Championships were held at Port Dennison Sailing Club Bowen 8-10 April.

There was a great roll up of 80 boats competing over 7 races in mainly light conditions. Fabulous to see 26 4.7s in the fleet including our venerable Chairman Ken Hurling making a comeback in his Laser Last Chance.

Woollahra’s Brett Beyer made the long trip north and won all but one race in the Standards. Frazer Brew from RQYS was only three points behind and won the only race which Brett did not. Zane Taylor from RQYS won the 4.7s in a close finish from Hugo Ralph also from RQYS. RQYS Radial sailors Ben Franklin and Annie Eastgate went head to head with Ben finishing up the winner by just four points.

Full results for the event are HERE.

Sign the like of which you don’t see at many sailing venues had some visitors intrigued though it didn’t seem to put them off.