Laser Nationals Adelaide Sailing Club Results

Well done to everyone of the 210 competitors in the 2017 Laser Australian Championship held at Adelaide Sailing Club over Christmas – New Year.
The winds were uncharacteristically light in the first three days but improved after the New Year’s Day break.

The Standards and 4.7s saw emphatic wins by Matthew Wearn RPYC/FSC (WA) and Jack Littlechild WSC/BSC/RSYS (NSW) respectively. Both sailors had their events wrapped up before the last day.

This was far from the case in the Radials where the top five positions were up for grabs in the final race. With highly variable conditions on the final day only one race was completed so the tension on the course was at high levels. The ultimate Radial winner was Rhett Gowans Mornington YC (Vic) who won the final race to take the lead and a win by two points from Caelin Winchcombe GBYC/FYC (WA) with Brody Riley McCYC/MYC (Vic) a point away third. The Women’s winner was Rio Olympic Representative Ashley Stoddart RQYS (Qld) who was 5th overall.

55 of 210 competitors were Masters sailors including two current World Masters Champions. Add did well in the testing conditions.

Congratulations to Adelaide Sailing Club and their great team of volunteers as well as PRO Ross Wilson and his team for the professional way in which the series was run.

The event web site is here and full results are here.

The 2018 Laser Nationals will be at Royal Queensland Yacht Squadron Brisbane over Christmas New Year and the separate National Masters will be at Mooloolaba Qld in February 2018.