2016 Australian Sailing Awards

Laser sailors featured strongly at the 2016 Australian Sailing Awards held in Sydney in October.

Tom Burton (NSW), Rio 2016 Olympic gold medallist, was named Male Sailor of the Year.
Alistair Young (WA), 2016 ISAF Youth World Radial Champion, was named Youth Sailor of the Year.
Michael Blackburn, AST Laser coach and former Laser World Champion and Olympic Laser medallist, was named Coach of the Year.
Finalists included Laser sailors Ashley Stoddart (in Female Sailor of the Year), Zoe Thomson and Conor Nicholas (in Youth Sailor of the Year).

Congratulations to all the winners and finalists across all the categories.  A full report can be viewed at  http://www.sailing.org.au/rio-stars-shine-2016-australian-sailing-awards/.