2016 Australian Laser Championships

The 2016 Australian Laser Championships incorporating the Open, Women and Youth Divisions were held at Belmont, NSW from 28 Dec 2015 to 4 Jan 2016 with 195 entries including 26 international sailors.  Full reports, photos and results are available at the event site here.

Standard: 1st Tom Burton (NSW) – Australian Open Standard Champion; 2nd Matthew Wearn (WA); 3rd Luke Elliott (WA); 4th Colin Cheng (SIN); 5th Mark Spearman

Under 21 Standard: 1st  Ryan Lo (SIN); 2nd Lacy Gilham (WA) – Australian Under 21 Champion; 3rd Ao Higuchi (JPN)

Radial: 1st Conor Nicholas (WA) Australian Open Radial Champion and 1st U19; 2nd Finn Alexander and 2nd U19; 3rd Brody Riley (VIC) and 3rd U19;  4th Manami Doi (JPN) and 1st Woman; 5th Ashley Stoddart (AUS), 2nd Woman and Australian Radial Woman Champion

Other radial cube winners: Under 19 – 4th Stuart Plenderleith (NSW), 5th Noah Taylor (NSW); Under 17 – 1st Sam King (TAS), 2nd Zac Littlewood (WA); Open Women – 3rd Khairunneeta Mohd Afendy (MAS); Under 19 Women – 1st Zoe Thomson (WA), 2nd Marlena Berzins (NSW)

4.7 Rig: 1st Rome Featherstone (WA) Australian 4.7 Champion and 1st U18; 2nd Hayden Coote (WA) and 1st U16; 3rd Jack Littlechild (NSW) and 2nd U18; 4th Tom Needham (QLD) and 3rd U18; 5th Finn O’Dea (WA) and 2nd U16; 6th Max Gluskie (TAS) and 3rd U16

4.7 Women: 1st Hailey Johnson Australian 4.7 Woman Champion; 2nd Emily Goodfellow (VIC); 3rd Bee Allison (WA)

The 2016 Australian Masters Laser Championships will be held in February at Port Stephens, NSW.